Why can I not perform a fast forward push?

Git has an option known as fast-forward updates (sometimes referred to as a force push). By default, this option is disabled in Beanstalk as it can have unintended consequences for those newer to Git. A worst case scenario could result in data loss as your repo history can be overwritten.

However, if you're familiar with how the feature works, it can be enabled under Repo > Settings in your Beanstalk account. Please note this is a repo specific setting.

For more details on fast-forwards, review the Git  documentation.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us