How do I set permissions for deployments?

The account owner and admins have access to all deployment environments on all repositories. You can limit access for regular users with the following permissions:

  • Full access to all environments.
  • Full access to a specific environment.
  • View Activity & Deploy (no access to editing environment).
  • View Activity for all environments.

Full access

You can grant a regular user full access to all the deployment environments in your repository. They will be able to:

  • Access and manage all environments
  • Manage servers
  • Deploy manually
  • Retry a deployment
  • Cancel a deployment
  • View incidents

Access to a specific environment

You can limit access for a user to one specific environment. That user will have the following permissions but only to this environment:

  • View the Deployment Activity for that environment

  • Deploy to servers in that environment

  • Retry a deployment

  • Cancel a deployment

View Activity & Deploy

If you set deployment permissions for a regular user to View & Deploy, they will have permission to all environment to:

  • View the Deployment Activity for all environments
  • Deploy manually
  • Retry a deployment
  • Cancel a deployment

They will not be able to edit any server settings. 

View Activity 

If you enable users View Activity permission, users will only be able to see the timeline of all environments in the repository, but they will not be able to deploy to them manually. If you set the environment to deploy automatically however, all commits will still trigger a deployment, regardless of permission level.

Setting Up Permissions

Deployment permissions can be setup under the “Users” tab in your Beanstalk account. Select a specific user and you’ll be able to specify all the permission levels.


User permissions

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us